Christmas Baking : A Round-Up

I’ve left it far too late to go into any real detail about my baking activity over Christmas, but I photographed everything so it seems a shame not to share at least a few with you.

The Christmas Cake

I stuck with what I knew and made Nigel Slater’s Christmas cake again this year, but this time the Christmas cake was fed for four weeks on Whyte and Mackay whisky, and smelt even more incredible this time for being fed a decent alcohol! Last year I didn’t ice my cake, but this year I decided I was going to, the only problem was I hate marzipan. Hate. But then I stumbled upon this Christmas cake recipe from Dan Lepard, where he ices it with pecan marzipan. Problem solved. The pecan marzipan was delicious, I could have eaten it totally on it’s own in quite large quantities (and did, if I’m totally honest). After the marzipan came the icing and I cut stars out of the leftover icing to decorate the top, a simple but I think beautiful finish to a classic cake.

Christmas Baking - Cake 01

Christmas Baking - Cake 02

Christmas Baking - Cake 03

Christmas Baking - Cake 04

Christmas Baking - Cake 05

Christmas Baking - Cake 06

The Christmas Pudding

I had stored this in my cupboard since I made it back in November, and then boiled it again for 3 hours on Christmas day. We flamed it with brandy because it would be rude not to, and then tucked in. I don’t normally eat Christmas pudding, but I had to try this one and I wasn’t disappointed. Light and soft and slightly sweet. Perfect with a dollop of extra thick double cream. It got the thumbs up from both my mother and grandmother (I don’t think I’ve ever seen my mum eat so much pudding!) and my grandmother’s only criticism was that she prefers a darker, heavier pudding, but that’s just a matter of preference – I know I wouldn’t have liked it like that! I’ve still got the second pudding in the cupboard, so that’s one thing off the baking list for next Christmas!

Christmas Baking - Pudding 01

Christmas Baking - Pudding 02

The Gifts

I baked a selection of biscuits and sweets for my family & friends again for their Christmas presents. On the menu this year were Florentines, Chocolate & Hazelnut Macaroons, Pecan Marzipan Balls dipped in chocolate & Honeycomb. I was staying with my mother over Christmas and her kitchen became a bakery on the Sunday before Christmas, with biscuits and sweets on every surface. I managed to rope The Boy into helping and he became chief chocolate dipper for the Florentines, which helped speed things up rather! Once completed and cooled, I boxed the biscuits & sweets up in cardboard boxes and made them look suitably festive so they could be given away at the numerous family gatherings over the following few days!

Christmas Baking - Gifts 01

Christmas Baking - Gifts 02

Christmas Baking - Gifts 03

Christmas Baking - Gifts 04

2 thoughts on “Christmas Baking : A Round-Up

  1. gemmagannon

    I love this! Just out of interest, which Christmas pudding recipe did you use? I baked Dan Lepard’s simple/easy Christmas pudding (I forget what it’s called!) and it worked beautifully! x

    Reply
    1. Lauren Post author

      I used the same recipe and it really was easy. I made 2 though instead of 1 so we’ll see what it tastes like after maturing for a year!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

