Sourdough Starter Day 6 01

Sourdough Starter Day 6

We have bubbles! I think I can actually say that my starter is alive! I am ridiculously excited about this fact. As you can see from the pictures there are a decent amount of bubbles on the surface. The texture is light & frothy and there is a definite acidic smell when you open the jar.

Sourdough Starter Day 6 01

Sourdough Starter Day 6 02

As specified by Dan I discarded 3/4 of the mixture and replaced with water, stirring until fully combined before adding the flour. The quantities in Dan’s recipe create quite a thick, doughy mixture as it ‘slows the fermentation and stops the leaven rising & falling too quickly’. I don’t know enough about sourdough yet to understand the benefit of that, so I’ll just take Dan’s word for it for now…

Sourdough Starter Day 6 03

This stage, where you need to weigh and discard a portion of the mixture every day, can be a bit of a faff. One good tip I read was in Leon Book 3: Baking & Puddings where Tom Herbert describes how to start a sourdough. He recommends weighing your jar while empty and making a note of the weight on a label, then when you need to discard a portion of the mixture you don’t need to decant it into a bowl to weigh it, you can just weigh it in the jar and do a little simple maths to work out what you need to remove. My jar weighs 680g. I forgot to write a label, but luckily I have a good memory for numbers.

Leave a Reply

