Pear Chocolate Crumble 01

Apple, Pear & Chocolate Crumble

I didn’t just stop at apple cake this weekend to use up the contents of my neglected fruitbowl. I also had some extremely ripe pears lurking in the fridge. I browsed through my Sweet Treats Pinterest board and found this Nigel Slater crumble from The Guardian.

As always with Nigel’s recipes it was very easy, I softened the pears (and an apple for good luck) in a pan for 5 minutes with sugar and lemon juice I then put these aside and left them to cool. Then later while I was waiting for dinner to cook, I blitzed flour & butter in my mini-chopper-type-device and then mixed in the sugar. At this stage I debated making more crumble mix as it didn’t look like it would cover the fruit in the dish I’d put them in, but I’m glad I didn’t. It was actually quite a lot of chocolate once I’d chopped it up and once baked it filled all the gaps in the crumble, mixing with the coarse sugar & crisp crumble.

Pear Chocolate Crumble 01

The result was a hot, sweet crumble, with a slight sharpness from the lemon juice. The bitterness of the dark chocolate contrasted against the sweetness of the fruit perfectly. We didn’t have any cream in the house, a must as far as I’m concerned for crumble, yet I would say this is probably the nicest crumble I’ve ever had. Would it be bad if I made one every day?

Pear Chocolate Crumble 02

Pear Chocolate Crumble 03

Leave a Reply

